top of page

2021 Competition Results

Conference Logo by Nancy Nesvik

Visit the Virtual Conference Link #4 to see the Awards Presentations.

Pen Woman of the Year - Karen McAferty Morris

Individual Achievement - Susanne Schuenke


Best of Show Lois Perdue
1st Place Phoenix
2nd Place Norma Sumner
3rd Place Beatrice Athanas
Honorable Mentions

Sue Lynn Cotton
Kirsten Hines
Sharron DeMarest
Susan Casbarro
Judges' Recognition Patricia Setser
Judges' Recognition Judy Nunno


Adult Fiction, Short Stories, Scripts, and Libretti

Pat Black-Gould – 1st

Patricia Williams – 2nd

Claire Massey – 3rd

Adult Fiction

Debora De Farias – 1st

Janet Sierzant – 2nd

Carol White – 3rd


Wilma Davidson & Diana de Avila – 1st

Andrea Walker – 2nd

Mary Jane Ingui – 3rd

Traditional Poetry

Karen McAferty Morris – 1st

Kay Williamson. – HM

Free Verse Poetry

Dorothy Kamm – 1st

Lorraine Walker Williams – 2nd

Karen McAferty Morris – 3rd

Jeannie Carlson – HM

Vera Hirschorn – HM

Claire Massey – HM

Adult Nonfiction

Debra O’Reilly – 1st

Sandy Huff – HM

Digital Writing

Jeannie Carlson – 1st

Sandy Huff – 2nd

Carolynn Scully – 3rd

Children’s and Young Adult Literature

Donna De Leo Bruno – 1st

Mary Ann Miller -HM


Kay Williamson - 1st

Sheila Firestone - 2nd

Dr. Joan Cartwright - 3rd

2021 Competition Results: Bio
bottom of page